Breaking the Cycle: My Diet Evolution

An oldie…..

YOUrtruthdiet

1998 B.C. (Before Change)

When I look back to my childhood, I remember eating and enjoying almost anything.  Except pimento cheese sandwiches.  Yuck, yuck, super-yuck!  My mother was a single parent raising two children and worked really hard.  I was a Cap’n Crunch Berries, Fruity Pebbles, Bisquick pancake with extra syrup, Ramen noodles, Bologna sandwiches, canned vegetables, Velveeta shells macaroni and cheese, Betty Crocker cake mix, Spaghetti-Ragu, sweet tea, and fried chicken kind of girl.  I use to believe that Sunny Delight was 100% fruit juice.  Salads, yes, salads, consisted of iceberg lettuce, shredded carrots, chunks of tomatoes, cucumber slices, and were drowned in heavy, creamy dressings.  Fortunately, my grandfather was a farmer and taught his family how to grow their own food so fresh produce was always available even during the winter, but what’s healthy about deep fried squash and okra?  In my neighborhood, there was no such thing…

View original post 615 more words

Leave a Reply

