Little Lady in the Woods

red-riding-hood-movie

It rained this morning and when it rains while I’m asleep, I find it hard to get out of bed.  I’m not ashamed to say that sometimes I just simply roll onto the floor before I finally decide to stand and fight the force of gravity.  Thank god the bed is only 12 inches from the floor or otherwise I would be in big trouble.  Well, despite all of the morning drama, I managed to make it back to the trail and guess what folks?  I kicked bootay!  I didn’t have any specific fitness goals today, but I just knew that I needed to get out of the house and make something happen.  The great thing about this trail is that it is marked every quarter-mile so I challenged myself.  I started running at the .25 mark and beasted it for about a mile without stopping.  Now I probably could have run longer, but this trail is very hilly and wet due to the rain so I took precaution.

Dad-w-stroller

Near the end of my workout, I ran into a “stroller dad.”  What in the heck is a stroller dad you might say.  Well, to make a long story short, during the last 5K race that Baldy and I attended, we were a bit disappointed to get beat by a dad pushing his two babies in a stroller.  We were both very much affected by the defeat that we’ve made it our goal to never get beat again by baby pushers.  Stroller Dad ran pass me several times today, but I always managed to catch up whenever he would stop to take a walking break.  Several times I saw him looking back over his shoulder maybe hoping he’d left me in the dust.  Nothing like a little healthy competition to pump fear in the heart of man.  I just followed the advice of an old friend.

the-tortoise-and-the-hare

Slow, but steady wins the race.  Well, an unofficial race.

I passed Stroller Dad and finished the last mile without stopping or running out of breath.  I even did a victory dance at the end not because I passed Stroller Dad, but because I did something that I knew I was capable of doing and then did it better.  I’ve run many miles in the past and nearly croaked, but this time I ran stronger.  I surprise myself sometimes!

Healthy Journey

Leave a Reply

