Vote for Good Health: YOUr Wellness Constitution

Have you voted yet? Well, if not, now is the time for you to cast your vote for the next best candidate.  You know, the one with the heart of gold, winning smile, and superhero complex.  Now, I’m not talking about the handsome Mitt Romney or Mr. Swagga’-Obama himself, I’m talking about YOU!  While you’re waiting in line to make another monumental decision about your future, why not campaign and rally for a healthier you?  Starting today, right now, yes, RIGHT NOW, lets take an oath to making small changes that are geared towards making us healthier, productive, and positive citizens of the world.  Start small, live big!

I have to tell you that I’ve spent some time thinking about how to take Yourtruthdiet to the next level.  So here, I’ll give you a brief run-down about what this interactive blogazine is now all about.  Each week I will start with a focus (challenge).  Throughout the week I will post various activities, goals, ideas, tips, and motivational pieces related to the focus.  Originally, Yourtruthdiet was primarily about weight loss, but now, I’m kicking it up a notch.  The idea behind this new and improved approach is to encourage more interaction between me, the writer and you, my inspiration.  This is a support community that will push you beyond your comfort zone and reveal a healthier, happier, and sexier you!

Enough with the yapping!  Are you ready to start your Wellness Constitution?

Materials: Paper, Pen/Pencil, Positive Attitude, (Optional: Markers, stickers, etc.)

YOUr Wellness Constitution (Start)

The 3-Articles:

I. Mind

II. Body

III. Spirit/Soul

YOUr Interaction:

  • Find a comfortable, inspiring space that allows you to focus on YOU!  Now, think about all of the things that you’ve been putting off and the excuses (not reasons) for putting them aside.  Write down three of those things that can be accomplished this week and that challenge you (1) mentally, (2) physically, and (3) spiritually.
  • Now you need an action plan.  Think about the small steps that you can take to accomplish those three goals this week and go for it.  Don’t doubt yourself.  Think about how great it will feel once you’ve reached your goal.  In matter of fact, think of each small step in your action plan as a mini-goal towards the bigger ones.

**********************************************************************************************

  • Example: I’ve been desperately trying to drink 8 glasses of water a day, but haven’t placed much emphasis on it.  I consider this to be a (1) Mental goal of mine.  Even when I’m thirsty, I force myself not to drink water and I want to push past that wall.  I think about how I would feel once I reach this goal and how much better I can function mentally and physically if I continue to drink the liquid awesomeness.
  • My Action Plan: Drink one cup of water every hour when at work (8hrs. a day).  Boooom! Simple and doable, right? Well, that’s the challenge.
  • Reward:  New water bottle!

******************************************************************

Other Examples:

Mental Goals- Read for 5 minutes everyday this week, play chess with a friend once or twice this week, etc.

Physical Goals- Walk 10 min. a day during lunch, do 10 push-ups every night before bed, etc.

Spiritual Goals- Meditate 10-15 two times this week, say something positive about yourself and someone else everyday this week, etc.

*When your Wellness Constitution (start) is complete, post the results on your blog and post comments on YOUrtruth.  

Healthy Journey!

Leave a Reply

