Feed the Trash: Phase II

Hello, hello…hola!  I have been M.I.A. for a while now, but do not fear, I haven’t forgotten about you all or ya’ll if you don’t mind a little Southern twang.  I wanted to post my last weigh-in of Phase I last week, but decided not to.  Honestly, I met my goal the week before (Whooooohooooo) but didn’t feel all that excited about it.  Why?  Well, I knew that if I ate well and worked out, it would happen, but I didn’t get a surge of energy from now weighing 155 lbs.  Instead, I was still weighed down from the stress of work.  Mentally, I could not let the happiness in because that is what work has trained me to do.  Happiness is not allowed and smiles are not widely accepted.  I fell into that role even though I tried my damnest not to.  I continued to push myself to eat well, but once again sugar was the only thing that actually made me feel happy for a split second and that is not an exaggeration.  I’ve been chasing that happiness high for the past two weeks and yes, it is possible to still lose weight and binge on sugar especially when sugar calories replace healthy calories.  In that sense, a calorie is a calorie.  I think that if I reached my goal the healthiest way possible, then I would not be sitting here writing this blog right now.  I would want to celebrate by skydiving somewhere in New Zealand.  How awesome would that be?

With that said, Phase 1, to lose 15 pounds by the end of Summer 2012 (Goal Weight: 155 lbs) has been accomplished.  Keeping it off?  Well, that’s the purpose of Phase II.

Okay, People, it doesn’t matter what you’re doing to take off the weight, if you don’t address the issue(s) that caused you to gain the weight in the first place, then you have a great chance of gaining the weight back and then some.  I acknowledge that when I am not happy, depressed, or uncomfortable, I eat sugar to make me happy.  It’s a quick fix for a bigger problem.  Phase II is all about finding better ways to cope and managing sugar addiction.  The ultimate evil.  I don’t want to defeat it because I love the art of baking and believe it’s possible to have the “good” stuff without overdoing it.  For example, I grabbed a Peanut Butter Twix bar the other day at the drug store.  Before I took one bite, I threw half of it away.  For 125 calories, I was satisfied and didn’t feel guilty for “feeding the trash.”  In matter of fact, it felt liberating.  So what happens if I did that from now on?  Only eat half of the goodies?  What happens if I don’t eat any at all?  What will I miss?  Will my head sprout evil-cookie-eating snakes?  Seriously, I think my wallet and teeth would appreciate this next phase of my journey.

Now that’s a chica with a bad Hair Day and attitude problem!!

PHASE II (Week-by-week Experiments):

  • Throw 1/2 of the goodies away.
  • No eating in the car, even the healthy stuff (Trying to avoid creating new bad habits and developing control).
  • Drink tons of water.

Healthy Journey!

Leave a Reply

