Get Up, Shut Up, and Put Out!!!

Running and walking usually inspires me to do some great stuff.  It’s gets the juices flowing.  This morning I ran 4.19 miles in memory of my good friend and afterwards I didn’t feel tired or sore, I just felt like good things are on the way.  I didn’t focus on the miles, but instead focused on the journey, the slight breezy weather, the smell of summer leaving us behind, I tried desperately not to get hit by cars, and finding peace with my sudden loss.  I stopped by the crime scene where she was murdered, now covered by flowers and cards from visitors.  I took a moment to remember her great smile, positive energy, and then decided to continue to run for Kathy. I guess I decided to run to remember her because in some way running frees me from pain and trouble.  In some way I think she is now free from her troubles as well, although she will be greatly missed by her three children.  Originally I had planned to run an actual 5K with the crowded street and entrance fee ordeal, but money is a little tight these days.  I decided to run a different route on my own and make a donation in support of her family  (www.indiegogo.com), although I must admit that I’m a bit of ‘memorabilia-whore’ when it comes to races.  I love collecting free t-shirts, key chains, stickers, and number tags.  Just the feeling of being part of something as awesome as a charity run is such a life changing experience, but in this case nothing can take the place of a good friend.

For the past two weekends I have found myself to be quite productive in taking caring of minor errands.  Last weekend I ran to the cleaners to pick up my dress and ran back home with the dress attached to my shoulders.  This morning I ran about 1.5 miles to the post office to drop of a letter for grad school.  My roommate jokes with me about that.  I’m now known as the “Machu Picchu errand girl.”  I don’t mind.  At least I saved a little bit of gas and am finally getting shit done.

As I stood on my front step this morning and stretched for a bit after my run, I kept thinking about all of the things I have planned for the next few weeks and what I would be doing if I had not planned anything.  Today I’m meeting up with an awesome guy to watch Batman and then tomorrow I’m meeting up with another awesome guy to visit an arboretum.   Next weekend I’m off to the Pride parade and having dinner with co-workers to celebrate the ending of our project.  I’m even making an awesome theme cake.  The following weekend I’m taking a train to visit a super-awesome amiga to celebrate my one year Blog-aversary.  And theeeeeeen, the following weekend I’m off to indulge in an awesome homemade slice of pecan pie with a side of homemade vanilla ice cream in a small town outside of the city that I’ve been dying to try for a while now.  I actually saw a picture of it in a local freebie magazine and decided, “Hey, now that I’ve gotta try.”  I’m also taking my sister to the beach before Old Man Winter hits the East coast.  If time permits I will attempt to sleep, eat, and breathe at some point.  My friends joke with me about my traveling habits and how I’m always doing something, but hey, if I did nothing how boring would that be?

Here’s my bottom line.  If there’s time to do something and a way to make it happen,then get to it.  The same lips that we use to complain about every little thing could be used for a good make-out session with a cuttie.  The same fingers that I’m using right now to write this blog could be used to finally learn how to play the guitar.  The same booty that we sit on when watching hours and hours of Zumba and Insanity infomercials, wishing we could move like those guys, could be grinding down in the middle of a dance studio.  Don’t get me wrong, the body and mind needs rest and of this I am sure, but when you’ve got the energy, time, and maybe a little money to spare…you’ve got to get up, shut up, and put out.  This is the only way you’re going we’re going to achieve our greatness and finally get what we deserve and need.  You never know what life has in store for you or if you will even live to see another day.  Come on, People, we’ve got a life to live so lets live it!

 

Healthy Journey!

 

Leave a Reply

