Weigh-in #: Silver Linings

“We often miss our blessings, not because our eyes aren’t open, but because our minds and hearts are closed.”

This weigh-in may get a little long and a little preachy, but don’t worry, you can leave your bible on your nightstand, enjoy a few good words in your bedroom slippers, and skip the fashion show at the sanctuary today.  Gotta love those bright, beautiful bonnets.

I’m not for sure who said those beautiful words above.  Maybe it was Maya Angelou, Desmond Tutu, or Tupac…who knows.  Can you feel the power in those words?  I’ve come to appreciate every little milestone in my life so far and simple words such as those bring me back into focus.  It’s a ‘brain laxative’ if you will.  I may not appreciate life’s obstacles at the time, but eventually I can find the silver lining in almost anything.

I’ve lost focus of my original weight loss goal mainly because after losing over 80 pounds, I felt that another 10 or so would be a piece of cake.  Well, last week I ate that ‘piece of cake,’ a pound of cookies, milkshakes, and french fries too.   Honestly, with the stressful week I had last week, it was no surprise.  I was out of control.  This week, however, has treated me much more kindly.  I’ve been replacing the negative mental crap with the good stuff.  The brain laxatives are working!

Case in point.  The death threat from last week from a guy yelling, “Do you want to die?,” was a traumatic experience.   At the time, I wanted to shit my pants.  The other part of me couldn’t believe that someone could be that mean to a stranger.  So what if I had the wrong phone number…couldn’t he just say that?  Some people!

Brain Laxative:  The more that I questioned this question, “Do you want to die?,” the more I realized, ‘HELL, NO.”  I’ve got a super-awesome bucket list and I’m just beginning to make things happen.  This fool has got to be crazy.  On a serious note, I thought, bingeing on sugar and negative thinking is not living.  Why are your torturing yourself?

Another case in point.  I’m 29 years old and had my first fight with arthritis in the knee, which has slowed me down a bit.  I felt low for a few days, but decided, hey, I’ll keep my workout low impact and get this thing checked out before running again.  My doctor was pleased with my progress and I got the okay to keep doing my thang.

Brain Laxative:  Listen to your body and do not give up.  Maybe this was my body’s way of saying it needed a break or that I should finally take up that swimming and spinning class that I’ve been putting off.  Just the push I needed to get the ball rolling again.

Finances.  Oh, boy!  So for all of you out there who don’t understand why some people with full-time jobs still aren’t able to pay their bills, let me just say, it’s possible.  Now, I’m very particular about paying my bills on time, but now that my student loan grace period has ended, I’m starting to rethink my spending.  I love tattoos, shopping at gourmet markets, and traveling, but a girls gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.  Cut the fat, cut the spending!

Brain Laxative: I called up the financial department, worked out a reasonable plan, made a decision to get a part-time job along with my full-time gig as a means to continue saving money instead of losing more.  I understand that altering my lifestyle a bit can make a huge difference and I’d rather have good credit, a cushion in the bank, and feel secure rather than looking good and being broke as hell.  That’s just me!

So by now, you get the Brain Laxative concept, but what does this have to do with weight loss?  If stress doesn’t weigh you down, then there’s nothing like a two-pound gain that will.  I realize that my goal was to reach 155 pounds by the end of summer, which will officially wave bye-bye on September 22 at 10:49 a.m. (Thank you, Google!), but I’ve got some serious work to do.  I was so close when I reached the 157 pound mark a month ago, but  I relapsed and sugar and I became friends again.  We partied almost every night last week and then I was left with an insane sugar rush and then hangover.  What a jerk!

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

Height: 5’8

Current Weight: 160(+2)

Previous Weight: 158

Starting Weight: 170

Total Weight-Loss so far:  10 lbs.

Goal Weight (September 22 @ 10:49 a.m.): 155

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

I’ve decided not to weigh myself again until September 22.  I want to lose weight the healthy way and I’ve found that just eating what I love in moderation is key.  Even when I want something sweet or salty, I can still have it, but I can’t lose control as I have in the past.  Weight loss is a mental battle, not just physical.  YourTruthDiet was created to emphasize that fact and hopefully provide some guidance for those who face similar challenges.   However, no matter what, don’t give up.  You’re worth the effort!  Continue to be open with yourself, accept and face your challenges head-on and you will be just fine!

Healthy Journey!

3 thoughts on “Weigh-in #: Silver Linings

  1. Plus 2 pounds is not bad after all the stuff you said you ate last week! Sorry for the traumatic experience… I don’t understand why people have to be so mean and overreact about such little things. :/

Leave a Reply

