Inspire to Be InspirED

 

“Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, I want her hair!”

 

“Oh, my, I’ve just go have her shoes and tattoos!”  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Wow, I would die to have her ass.”

 

 

 

 

 

“…I just want her grocery list!”

 

I didn’t set out to do this.  Well, maybe I did, but I always make it a point to eat healthy around other people and behind closed doors for the most part.  At work, I bring in the freshest produce I can find and display it for everyone to see.  I bring in extra grapes, bananas, berries, and kiwi for my team to ensure that they are off to a good start because quite honestly it shocks me to find out how many people skip breakfast and then wonder why they feel like shit throughout the day or are a millisecond away from punching someone in the face.  In cases like that, I always ask, “Did you eat something?”  There ya’ go!

Each day that I take my snack or lunch break at work, I see more people taking a quick glance my way.  They’re not looking at my hot orange pants, cute sandals, or hot red lips.  They’re checking out my sexy vegetables, juicy fruit, or trying to figure out what in the hell that green shit is in my glass bottle.  They ask, “Hey, sista, what you got in that glass, a smoothie?”  When I tell people that I juice, they reveal something to me.  Secretly their dying to eat more healthy, but have no idea where to start.

In time, I’ve seen more people, women in particular, bringing in avocados to go along with their salads or bowls of vibrant berries for dessert and you know what else?  They’re talking about it.  I’ve had more conversations with people about eating healthy and losing weight in the past month than I care to count and it’s awesome.  It’s not just the health nuts that enjoy talking about healthy nuts.  People of all shapes, sizes, and health conditions are in the loop as well.

One of my co-workers has enlisted me to help her on her weight loss journey.  Everyday she takes a visual inventory of the food I bring in and wonders how it is that I know what to buy.  She wants my grocery list.  She confesses that she’s never really learned how to eat and I have to say that I understand her confusion.  I think this is true for so many people and today’s youth are suffering from the worst case of food illiteracy in history.

How do we change that?  How do we make real food and healthy living just as appealing as the Kim Kardashians, the baddest Gears of War, the cutest Justin Beiber, and most sedentary Facebook out there?

I say start small, lead by example, spread the love by sharing grocery lists and exchanging healthy conversations.  Think small, act big!  Share the inspiration!

 

Healthy Journey!

2 thoughts on “Inspire to Be InspirED

Leave a Reply

