It’s All in My Head

Ever wish your brain could go into Energy Saving Mode?  I have been busy all day and ironically, have not had much time to actually THINK.  I’ve been solving other people’s problems, coding cases, answering questions, answering phones, clicking this, clicking that, running errands, sitting down, standing up, emailing, making spread sheets, and never truly having enough time to praise and honor the beauty of Hotty Pottoty Scotty, the project engineer guy.  There was very little “me” time and when I finally came close to having a little, I was too mentally exhausted to do anything.  I didn’t want to read my favorite magazine, paint, talk on the phone, or enjoy my promotion.  It all just seemed like more work.  Why bother?

Usually on days like this, it takes a long time for my brain to calm down and I find myself performing every personal activity as if it was a work task.  It’s as if I have little Fraggle Rock doozers (I’m really showing my age with that show) living inside of my head.  They are constantly at work and my life is on autopilot.  I’m doing things because they need to be done and not enjoying the process.  I’m not even enjoying the fun stuff like shopping and buying new nail polish.  On days like this I find a grocery store and go into snack-junk mode.  I buy every bit of snack food I see, eat it, and want more.  It’s not because I want it or because I’m hungry, it’s because I have to tame this mental energy somehow.  My mind knows that something is missing or wrong, but what can it be?  What will make things right again?  How can I fix another problem?

Solution?  STOP.  DO NOTHING!  PUT DOWN THE TIRAMISU!!!

Stop everything.  Stop eating, stop drinking, stop worrying, stop driving, stop breathing (for 10 seconds), just CHILL-AX.  Even better, go home, walk around in your birthday suit (yes, People, get naked), light a few candles, take a dump, open the windows, listen to music courtesy of Mother Nature, and chill.  I pity the fool who doesn’t try this (sorry, I’m a huge Mr. T fan)!

It doesn’t matter if you have the best body ever, just as long as you love it and cherish its strength.  Set your mind free and the rest will follow.  I have to learn that when I have moments like this, there’s not always a need to find a solution to a problem because maybe that’s the problem.  A  Catch-22 if you will.  There really isn’t a problem at all.  It’s all in my head.

Healthy Journey!

2 thoughts on “It’s All in My Head

    • This is a very common thing with people who are trying to lose weight and conquer the world at the same time. You have to take the time to unwind and enjoy being in the moment. Mental clutter sucks!

Leave a Reply

