Sexy Day Challenge: Give Me Color (August)

My Unexpected Sexy Day Challenge

For some reason I woke up in a very good mood.  A girly mood.  A shopping mood.  Something that rarely happens, but I went with the flow.  I have to admit, I’m a bit of a bore when it comes to fashion.  I wasn’t born with the Vogue or Elle gene.  I wore boy clothes from the time I was in middle school up until early college.  Gradually I came out of my comfort zone and found high heels and skirts to be somewhat alluring, but I never cared for exploring color, tight fitted things, and booty shorts until I started to lose weight.  Even then, I was afraid of bringing attention to myself because when you’ve hidden yourself for so long, it can become downright scary and intimidating to try something new.  Something daring.  Something that’s, well, not you!  So you think!  Ninety or so pounds down and I still haven’t found my fashion gene.  I became close to hiring a detective to help me find it.

Folks, I think today was breakthrough.  A step towards extraordinary.  A step into the world of skinny jeans and bursts of colorful rainbows. I broke down and purchased a pair of size 12, bright orange, skinny jeans and man, oh man!  I have to say that for once, I actually enjoyed my visit to the mall and I may do it again.  Did I mention that I’m allergic to the mall?  Big crowds and excessive spending?  I decided to let Victoria keep her Secrets today and to let someone else buy her lovely bras and panties.  I suppose if that’s your thing then go for it.  For me, I can find better things to spend my money on, but for 20 bucks, those skinny jeans are mine.  I also tried to stay away from the color “black,” except when it came to these hot pleather pants that I’ve been eyeing for while.  Hmmmmm!

I wanted to wait until Monday to wear my new pants to work, but after cleaning them and then trying them on again, I decided to slide them on, strut my stuff with a black tank top, black high heels, and bright red lips.  The rest is history, Folks.  I found something that works well for my body type and actually shows off all of the hard work I’ve been putting in down in the basement and at the dance studio.  I never thought I would crave color and change as much as I did today.  When I hung those bad boys up in my closet tonight, a huge smile came across my face.  Not only do these jeans stand out among the rest of my wardrobe, but they symbolize the brighter side of the person I have become throughout my journey.  Man, I’m so sappy.

What will you do for your Sexy Day Challenge (August)?

Healthy Journey!

9 thoughts on “Sexy Day Challenge: Give Me Color (August)

  1. I am not sure if this fits but, i have been wearing spandex to run in. I do run in the dark but still on the hidden sexy side to me.

  2. I know exactly how you feel about finally wearing clothes that make you feel good. I remember wearing baggy shirts and pants in middle school. I sort of came out of my shell in high school and then finally blossomed in college.

    And I sort of had a sexy challenge today. I normally don’t dress up going to the grocery store. But today, I just felt the need to 🙂

    • Isn’t it an awesome feeling to get out of your comfort zone? Yeah, it can be scary sometimes, but I really admire people who just go for it. I work with an older woman who refuses to wear jeans, even when she cuts the grass. Lol. Her daughter finally convinced her to buy two pairs of blue jeans, but she’s determined to stay classy in her dresses.

      I’m still trying to figure out what my Sexy Day Challenge will be for September. What will you do next month?

      • That’s a really good question. I always feel like fall is a perfect season to express a sense of fashion, especially when I was in school. In the fall I had my best outfits. So I think one night when I go out I want to try and layer up. Like tights, boots (maybe with a heel), a dress, sweater and scarf. Something like hipster meets fashionista.
        I’ve always wanted to try this look while going out for a drink, but I feel like I would look too old or too uptight, you know? Maybe guys wouldn’t like this. But you know what I’m at the point in my life where I shouldn’t even care about that. It’s about me, and not the clothes I wear.

      • In my experience, guys like girls who comfortable being themselves. You should go for the layered look. I kind of feel the same way you do about the whole layered look, but I’m going to venture out into the world of pleather and animal prints. Eventually. Lol. I’d rather look like an old lady than a prostitute. I’ll make it tasteful. Lol.

  3. I’m still way off from where I’d feel comfortable to do a sexy challenge. But I didn’t want to tell you how awesome your story is. Absolutely awesome! Can I be proud of you without seeming like an Internet creeper?!? lol. Way to go 🙂

    • Lol. You are not an internet creeper and as for Sexy Day Challenge, you can start small. Try a daring fingernail polish, dance while cleaning dishes, or wear a new shade of lip gloss. It doesn’t have to be major just as long as you are happy and feel challenged.

      Thank you so much for your support. Join me next month for Sexy Day Challenge (September). Choose to do it on any day you would like and for at least an hour. I want to hear all about it. Enjoy your weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

