In the Zone

Today is rest day for me in terms of working out. Yeah, yeah, I could have walked around, ran a little, did a few push ups, but a sista’ takes this rest thing very seriously.  After working out 5-6 days a week, I think it’s time I sit my booty down and let my body recover.  However, I have to admit, you would think that resting and sleeping an hour later than usual would give you loads of energy, but it’s quite the opposite for me.  I feel more tired and anxious when I’m not moving.  Thank goodness for work.  There’s not many opportunities to rest. Could you imagine sitting down for eight hours straight and not being able to stretch your legs or leave the building for fresh air?  If you’re in that kind of predicament, make time to get some physical lovin’ into your world.  Take a brisk walk outside or inside the building, take the stairs, find a walking buddy, do some yoga moves at your desk, or replace your ergonomically incorrect desk chair with a Stability Ball and make this an everyday thing.  Not only will you feel better, but you’ll be more productive.  These small changes will transcend into other facets of your life.  Oh, yeah, baby!

I’ve encouraged my team at work to do this and the results have been amazing.  I’m so inspired by this concept that I’ve proposed the idea of a company 5K.  Not only will this raise money for the community, but it will encourage healthy habits within the office and create a better working community.  I bring fruit and granola bars in the morning when I’m leading my team meetings.  What I’ve found is that people generally want to eat better and they will eat the good stuff if it’s available.  This is what being in the zone does for me.  It turns me into a busy body and trust me folks, the Energizer Bunny don’t have nothing on me.

My Zone:

Sunday– Zumba

Monday– Rest Your Booty Day

Tuesday– 30 min. run (5.5 mph), Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred, Levels 2 or 3 (25 min.)

Wednesday– 3 mile run, interval training (5.0-7.0 mph), Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred, Levels 2 or 3 (25 min.)

Thursday– 30 min. run (5.5 mph), Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred, Levels 2 or 3 (25 min.)

Friday– 30 min. run/walk (4.5 mph), Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred, Levels 2 or 3 (25 min.)

Saturday-3 mile run, interval training (5.0-7.0 mph), elliptical, interval (20 min.)

6 thoughts on “In the Zone

  1. I love all the great thoughts and topics you bring in up in this blog. It’s really fascinating, I’ll be reading back through some of your posts soon

    In the meantime, I’ve decided to pass on the Inspiring Blog Award to you. It’s a badge you can put in your side bar, and nominate others if you’d like. Here’s my acceptance post so you have an idea of what it is.

    http://arganesh3.wordpress.com/2012/08/13/inspiring-and-thought-provoking-blog-award/

    Keep doing what you do! All the very best!! 🙂

    • Rest is definitely a necessity. I love it when I’m in the zone, but my body knows when enough is enough and I listen to it. I’m seeing and feeling a huge difference, but realistically, when I’m 99 and barely kicking, Zumba and Insanity will be the last thing on my mind. Lol. You’re awesome, keep up the great work!!!Healthy Journey!

  2. I know what you mean about rest days. I believe I have referred to mine as “sacred” in the past. I’ll be active, but these muscles need to recuperate!

    Your routine is really impressive! I need to check out Zumba–everyone I know who has tried it loves it.

Leave a Reply

