Eh, yo, What’s Yo’ Numba?’

How do you know when you’ve reached your ideal weight?  Does the BMI index really matter?  I’ve wondered about that lately.  I’ve knocked off a few slabs of poundage here and there and I’ve always told myself that 155 pounds is my ultimate goal, anything less would be sickening.   However, as I slowly approach number 1-5-5, I’m starting to have second, third, and fourth thoughts.  What if 155 just doesn’t feel right?  What if 145 feels better?

I’ve gone back and forth, glancing, tracing, and reading article after article about the validity of the BMI index.  According to the chart, a healthy weight for me at 5’9 would be 130-165 lbs.  Many experts strongly encourage everyone to stay within a healthy range according to this beautiful chart and then there are others who say it’s unrealistic to follow the damn thing period.  To add more confusion to the pot of debate, there are some experts working on a BMI index specifically for African-Americans that takes body composition into consideration.  Big hips, big booties, and breasts are definitely accepted in this new chart, but to what extent?  The verdict has yet to come.  I don’t have a big booty and curves in many of the places that stereotypical African-American women have, however, fat is fat no matter what body part it’s attached to.  I agree with the fact that some body fat is healthy and although there are people pushing their bodies beyond capacity in order to deposit body fat into the fatcan, I think healthy body fat and weight in general depends on the individual.

I know that I will never be a size 0 and gladly accept that fate, however, I think my biggest concern with going beyond the 155 mark is what other people will say.  Yeah, yeah, I know!  I’m the big blabbermouth, go for the GOLD, bleep-everyone-else loudmouth, but the thought of my father watching Lifetime movies again in an effort to educate himself about anorexia and bulimia in fear that his little girl has gone mad, just concerns me.

I never knew my potential before as a 253 pound high school graduate.  I didn’t know my potential as a 180 pound graduate student.  Here I am today, still clueless as a 161 pound serial blogger and I’m still hungry for another breakthrough.  Maybe fear has kept me from reaching that 145 mark for so many years.  Honestly, as long as I’m healthy, happy, and strong, that’s all that matter.  No matter what lies the scale decides to tell on Weigh-In Wednesdays!

 

Healthy Journey!

4 thoughts on “Eh, yo, What’s Yo’ Numba?’

  1. I sometimes think that we set a goal number and when we hit it we see something else. For instance I had rolls and then I lost some weight. My rolls got smaller. Then I saw lines that I didn’t like. We are just a work in progress trying to achieve something that will keep changing…I have no idea what I just said.

    • I understand what you are saying. Lol. I also think we underestimate or overestimate ourselves. The journey can be intimidating sometimes, but when you find the right number or place, you will know. You’ll just feel it. It has to feel right to the individual. Healthy Journey!

  2. Bmi is pretty much bs. It doesn’t take a lot of things into consideration, like bone density or water weight. I’ve been reading many articles lately where people are abandoning it. Like for me, I’m 5’4″ and a size 10-12, and it says I’m morbidly obese. Not quite, and getting that kind of information has got to kill any self esteem and confidence.

    • Yeah, I haven’t focused much on BMI, but I don’t want to lose too much weight either. I know that I would like to lose a little more than I originally planned, but I want to make sure it’s something I can manage on a healthy level. Healthy choices is what I’m aiming for regardless of weight loss goals. Best of luck to ya! Healthy Journey!

Leave a Reply

