Do You Know Your Potential?

I’m waiting for something funny and clever to say and folks….I’s got nothin’.  I got up at 7am this Saturday morning, hit the weights and planks for my morning strength training session with one of the country’s toughest female trainers, yep, Jillian Michaels.  After 20 minutes or so of cursing, groaning, and sweating from the gruesome 30-Day Shred DVD, I said to myself, ” You’re getting stronger.  Look at those arms.  Wow.  And you thought you couldn’t do it.  Do you know you’re potential?”  You will notice that I talk to myself on a regular basis and it’s fine just as long as I don’t respond back, but that question really made me wonder.  Do I really know my potential?

I’ve been on a cleansing mission lately. I’m juicing, cleaning up my room, cleaning out the refrigerator and pantry, and I’m cleaning up my relationships with family and friends.  Hell, some of them I’ve just tossed to the side for now because, People, one thing that I have learned in the past year, you can not help those who do not want to help themselves no matter how much you care.  Sometimes people can be leaches.  They will suck the life right out of you if you let them and take your kindness for weakness.  Okay, whatever…love, peace, and joy to everyone, right?

One thing that I’ve noticed is that as I get older, I have less time for bullshit.  No scratch that.  I have no NEED for bullshit.  I’m a very considerate and caring person.  I have flown all the way across the country just to check on my depressed best friend, I will help anyone who has a dream and seriously wants to accomplish something no matter how big or small, I’m planning a fishing trip for a handicap man I barely know, and why?   Because I believe in good people.  I do this, because this is who I am.  If you don’t like it, what can I say?  Nothing, because it’s a waste of energy and time that could be spent on something more positive.

I have been let down by so many people in my life, but that’s not grounds to do something drastic.  It’s only making me stronger.  Just recently, I ended a friendship with someone who really motivated me in ways he will never know and although it hurt, I used my experience with him to become stronger.  So maybe I’m not girlfriend material, blah, blah, blah, but I am a fucking awesome friend.  So what if nobody else sees that?  That’s cool, it’s their loss.  The one thing that I do know is that someone else will appreciate the hell out of me.  Maybe not today or tomorrow, but someday.  I’m not narcissistic by any means, but years of depression and feeling sorry for myself has taught me to appreciate what I have and don’t worry about the other shit that was never meant to be.

For years, the only thing that every truly made me happy was food.  Especially cakes, cookies, pies…OH, MY!!!!  I’ve learned to embrace it and understand those feelings.  Now, I just make sure that when I bring those things into my environment, I make sure that they’re the best damn things ever.  Even if that means driving an hour away to an awesome bistro for the finest slice of Pecan pie in North Carolina or taking the train to D.C. to dance at an outdoor Reggae concert while eating a cupcake from D.C. Cupcakes.  The experience of exploring new territory is definitely worth it.  For me, that’s what life’s about.  The simple, yet fulfilling things, exploring the unknown, and making happy memories.

YourTruthDiet isn’t a magic program.  I created the concept after realizing that when I was real with myself, I felt better, made better choices, and found ways to become a better person in general.  No more excuses and blaming other people for my mistakes and misunderstandings.  There isn’t a step-by-step guide on how to live the best life possible.  It’s a journey of ups and downs, of Ah-ha moments, and WTFs here and there.  It’s about recognizing your potential and pushing through the bullshit.  Grabbing reality by the horns and riding it like everyday is the best day of your life.   Folks, stay positive and embrace your potential!

 

Healthy Journey!

Leave a Reply

