How Do You Like Your Texas?

Your Texas Caviar that is!

Every once in a while I come across a recipe that really turns me on.  I mean, I can’t stop thinking about it and sometimes I find myself wiping a little happy drool from my lips from just the thought of devouring a bowl of deliciousness.  This week, that recipe is none other than Texas Caviar or black bean salsa.  You can eat this stuff with almost anything.  Fish?  You got it.  Chicken? Oh, yeah!  Chips?  Yeaaaaah, baby.  Avocado?  Si, papi.  Well, folks, I made a big bowl, sampled a little bit of the stuff and found myself doing my “happy” dance in the middle of the kitchen.  If you don’t have a happy dance, you betta’ go out and get you one.

The thing that I love the most about this recipe is that it’s so simple, it goes a long way, it’s beautiful, and it’s very fresh.  It always reminds me of summer and picking vegetables out of my grandfather’s garden as a little girl (I never realized how sexy shucking corn could be until I saw this guy…Hubba, Hubba!!!).

If you’re able to make this recipe with veggies from your very own garden then I just know you’re really going to enjoy the results.  If you’re really a beast in the kitchen, then you may consider cooking your own beans, shucking your own corn, and making your own dressing.  For the rest of you, well, there’s always the frozen section and canned food aisle in your local grocery store.  Whatever you decide, it’s almost impossible to mess up this recipe.  Add extra jalapeno if you want to turn up the heat.  Ohhhhhhh, muy caliente!

Oh, yeah!  People, please PUT DOWN YOUR MEASURING CUP!

TEXAS CAVIAR 

1 can (14-15oz.) Black Beans, drained and rinsed

1 can (14-15oz.) Black Eyed Peas, drained, and rinsed

2 cloves. Garlic, minced

1-2 Jalapeno, seeded, chopped

1-2 Bell Peppers (green, yellow, or red), seeded, chopped

2-3 med. Tomatoes, seeded, chopped

1 med. Cucumber (peeled if not organic), chopped

Cilantro (add as much as you want)

2-3 Green onion (green and white parts), chopped   or red onion

4-5 ears of Sweet Corn or 1 can of sweet corn ( I prefer Shoepeg)

1/2 bottle of Italian dressing or any Italian dressing (less if you prefer)

1 can (14 oz) Black Olives, chopped (optional)

s/p (optional)

sugar to taste (optional)

Now, put all of this beautiful, deliciousness into a large bowl, combine, and store in clear glass jars or whatever you want to put it in. I prefer mason jars because you are able to see the rainbow of colors really well.  Heck, you may even be tempted to give a jar away as a gift to a friend.  Wait……..What in the hell am I saying?  Why would you want to do that?

I like food that brings me joy when I make it and makes me feel even better when I eat it.  I call these “Feel Good Foods.”  Use this recipe as a side dish, top a Portobello mushroom with it and then top that off with avocado. Add a side salad or soup and you’ve got yourself a light lunch.  Whatever you do, enjoy it!

Healthy Journey!

Leave a Reply

