Twenty-One Days of Juicing

I decided to write a separate blog giving more detail about the 21 Day Cleanse I will try starting tomorrow.  As I’ve mentioned before, I recently read the book CrazySexyDiet by Kris Carr, which is derived from the documentary she produced called CrazySexyCancer.  This is a documentary chronicling her journey to become vegan (more raw vegan) after being diagnosed with a rare form of cancer.  After years of educating herself about nutrition, the pH scale, alkaline  and acidic foods, she discovered that the raw-vegan lifestyle was beneficial and she’s basically scared the living shit out of her “canSer.”

I’m not trying this cleanse because I have cancer or a severe medical issue, but I like the idea of doing it because there is a strong emphasis on nutritional and mental balance.  Kris focuses on eating for energy and not just for the hell of it, finding your inner peace through exercise and meditation, and ridding your body of toxins and negative thinking.  I know this may sound eccentric or crazy to some people, but sometimes our body and mind needs a break from all of the BS that life brings our way.  Life happens and you just have to find a way to deal with it.  One size doesn’t fit all and what I’ve learned so far is that sometimes you’ve got to experience different things in order to find what works best for you.  Wow, I just a had a moment! Okaaaaaaaaay, so what does the 21-Day Cleanse include?

_________________________________________________________________________________

WEAN WEAK: 

  • Slowly remove coffee from your diet, cut back on drinking alcohol, drink plenty of purified water, reduce meat consumption, phase out dairy and gluten, completely cut out sugar and refined carbs, and double up your intake of greens (intro into juicing).

BOOTY CARE:

  • Kris recommends using an enema bag to get things moving and a colonic if possible.  (Now, I’m not going to get into details about any of this stuff because it’s just nasty and too personal, but you get the picture.)
SPIRITUAL HEALTH:
  • Daily meditation (15-20 minutes or more)
  • Fasting on Sundays (Only juices and water is allowed; if you’re dying from hunger, a salad is okay)

SAMPLE MEAL PLAN:

  • Warm water with lemon/herbal tea
  • Green Juice (Juice cucumber, kale, romaine, celery, broccoli, pears, and ginger root)
  • Berries, Apples
  • Tofu Eggless Salad, Gluten-free bread
  • Raw almonds, cashew butter, almond butter
  • Thai “Peanut” Sauce Vegetables with quinoa
  • Kale-Avocado Salad

__________________________________________________________________________

I don’t think this sounds too bad, but it will be a challenge.  There are many food options to choose from, but the main focus is eating more vegetables, keeping a 60/40 or 80/20 ration of alkaline foods to acidic foods.  Yeah, this may seem like very technical stuff, but it basically means to eat more vegetables than fruit.  I think I’ve bored you enough, but trust me, there will be plenty of exciting and messed up stuff to talk about within the next 21 days.  For example, I’ll be fasting on my birthday.  What a way to celebrate!  “One, green juice coming right up.  No, make it a double! CHEERS!”

 

Healthy Juicing!

 

 

One thought on “Twenty-One Days of Juicing

  1. I’ve been given thought to juicing as well. I watched the film “Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead” last week, and it really woke me up to the nutrition side of being healthy. Interesting stuff!

Leave a Reply

