Do These Genes Make My Ass Look Big?

I’m going to skip the BS and jump straight to the truth.  I thought of this awesome title for this post and now I don’t know what to write.  I am honestly suffering from some sort of writer’s block and it’s driving me crazy.  Maybe I’ll just start with what inspired me to talk about genes and big butts in the first place.  Yaaaaaaaaaaay!

So, I had the opportunity to have a chat with my father a few days ago.  It’s a rare event.  Something like an astronomical, eclipse, every blue moon kind of thing.  Normally we talk about boys, cars, CNN, and Mellow Yellow (he has a 2 liter a day habit…man, that’s bad), but for some reason he wanted to talk about my grandparents.  From our conversation I gathered that my grandfather suffered from emphysema and my grandmother was a binge eater.  She spent many nights overeating when she thought no one would notice.  In the end, she had a heart attack without warning.  Her doctors blamed high cholesterol and her binge eating as the cause of her death.  This hit me like a ton of bricks because I had to take a hard and honest look at my own eating habits.  I confess, I have obsessive behavior when it comes to eating desserts, but is it her fault that I’m a binge eater?  Is this type of thing genetic?  Is that why I have muffin top and my zipper screams every time I try to fit into my favorite pair of jeans?  Ummmmm, that would be a sorry excuse, but in all seriousness, how much does genetics play a role in obesity or other health problems?

With all of the new studies out there stating how wheat causes obesity, how everyone has a fat gene, or how hormones in our food causes obesity and cancer, I think it is possible that these could related to some people.  I can not begin to tell you how many excuses or reasons that I’ve heard of why people believe they are destined to be overweight.  My favorite is this very simple phrase: “I’m just big-boned.”  I digress.

Truthfully speaking, we’re not all meant to be a size zero and that is A-okay because a size 10, 12, 14, 16 can be hot and healthy too, but if you’re like me who comes from a family with a history of breast cancer, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, diabetes, lung cancer, heart attacks, and awesome summer pig pickings, then you may want to attempt to take better care of yourselves.  Even if genetics is not the cause of these health conditions in many cases, bad eating habits are definitely a contributing factor.  How can I blame genetics and my family’s health history for my habits when I’m aware of the negative possibilities?  That is the one thing I am able to control.  I can’t control certain biological factors, but I can’t continue to destroy my health either.  It’s just not cool.  And yeah, I’ll continue to get nasty stares when I attend family functions and refuse pork and Aunt Sally’s orgasmic potato salad (wait…that’s just gross) opting for more vegetables instead, but that’s okay.  The way I see it, I want to live a lot longer so that Mr. George Clooney and I can finally get married, leave Hollywood, and live happily ever after.   By the way, all of you guys are invited to the wedding!

 

Healthy Journey!

One thought on “Do These Genes Make My Ass Look Big?

Leave a Reply

