I Think I’m Going to Need a Larger Bucket!

I’ve been viewing some of your awesome blogs and thoroughly enjoying them.  They have inspired me to do many things and now I’m afraid that I’m going to need a larger bucket for my lists of things-to-do-before-I-die a.k.a. the bucket list or bucket ‘lists’ in my case given that I’ve been writing and ripping them up since the fifth grade.  Not anymore.  I’m just going to keep adding to them and trying my damnest to finish whatever I start.  Honestly, I am very annoyed with myself.  I don’t like to take two steps forward only to take two or more steps back and that has happened a lot lately.  I want to make each step count and after a while you realize that you’re not really going anywhere by continuously starting over.   It’s what I call the Clean-Slate syndrome.  Some of you can attest to this when you make a plan to start a diet on Sunday because it’s the first day of the week and then by Tuesday you’ve bombed out so what do you do?  You start again next Sunday until one day you wake up and realize that this shit has been going on for years and instead of losing weight, you’ve gained more due to the stress.  Well, I was caught up in the Clean-Slate cycle for a while and now I’m ready to move forward.  These last 15-20 pounds should have gone missing a long time ago and I let it hold me back from wearing those cute, form-fitting dresses (designed by me), and an awesome, itsy-bitsy, polka dot bikini.

My bucket list is very random, but exciting to a shy girl such as myself.  I’ve never been one who believes that it is impossible to accomplish any goal in your life alone.  I do not mind going solo from time to time.  Actually, most of the time.  I’m not a loner, but I don’t hold myself back simply because someone else doesn’t care to do the thing that I want to do.  I did not give up on losing weight simply because I couldn’t find a walking buddy or because my parents and friends eat different things.  I found ways to get around it and did my own thing.  If I would have waited for my friends and family to get on board with me, I would probably weigh twice as much as I did in high school or never lived in Charleston, Oaxaca, or even move just a few hours away from my hometown.   I would not be the person that I am today if I did not take those chances.  Now I’m addicted to change and growth.  I want more of it, I have to have it.  I just have to be me and this chick is on to something brilliant.  Something this chick likes to call “Living Life.”

So what’s inside of my bucket?  There are some silly goals, some small goals, some heartbreaking ones, outrageous ones, classics, and WTFs.  I like to keep life interesting.   Why not?

(In no particular order!)

  1. Get a full-time job with a non-profit (2012)
  2. Make chocolate croissants from scratch.
  3. Reach 155 pounds  (Sat, Sept. 22, the healthy way. (2012)
  4. Run a 5K without taking walking breaks. (2012)
  5. Open a small bakery.
  6. Make French Macaroons.
  7. Run a 10K, walking allowed. (Spring, 2013)
  8. Run a 10K, no walking. (Summer, 2013)
  9. Learn how to swim, not float (2012)
  10. Make an apple pie from scratch.  Grandma style!
  11. Complete all tasks to re-earn all Girl Scout badges (I was a Brownie for 3 years!)
  12. Face my fear of the ocean
  13. Go cliff diving, Bella-style to all of you Twilight fans.
  14. Learn how to juggle with kiwi fruit.
  15. Teach in another country for a year
  16. Dance the Tango in the streets somewhere in Spain
  17. Visit Japan
  18. Learn how to do a cart-wheel.
  19. Do a cart-wheel along a beach in Montevideo
  20. Vacation on an island
  21. Go zip lining in Costa Rica
  22. Go Skydiving
  23. Learn how to tie a tie.
  24. Kiss under a waterfall.
  25. Take a trapeze class in California
  26. Sing in a jazz band
  27. Learn a song in Spanish and know what it means
  28. Learn a song in Italian and know what it means
  29. Learn a song in French and know what it means
  30. Learn a song in German and know what it means
  31. Learn a song in Portuguese and know what it means
  32. Learn a song in Chinese and know what it means
  33. Grow fruits and vegetables Summer 2013( 2015)
  34. Belly dance for my friends for my 30th birthday
  35. Learn how to dance Salsa
  36. Wear bathing suit on beach for 1 hour without cover up
  37. Dance salsa in a Miami club
  38. Walk nude along a nude beach in France
  39. Learn how to pole dance (This is not a new career move, just for fun, promise!)
  40. Learn Spanish fluently (almost there)
  41. Learn Mandarin fluently (not nearly there)
  42. Speak intermediate Portuguese
  43. Order a cup of coffee and pastry in Italian
  44. Write a book
  45. Publish an article in a magazine
  46. Play a sport
  47. Model for a figure drawing class
  48. Take tasteful, professional, nude photos (A celebration of my new body)
  49. Wear bikini to the beach
  50. Pay off credit cards
  51. Drink 2 liters of water each day for 7 days
  52. Start up another volunteer organization teaching communities how to live healthy
  53. Get second masters Nutrition Science
  54. Become a Registered Dietitian
  55. Get TESL certification
  56. Practice yoga in India
  57. Learn how to play guitar
  58. Learn how to play piano
  59. Take 10 Zumba classes or more
  60. Teach a Zumba class
  61. Throw appreciation bash for my mom
  62. Take my niece on an amazing trip
  63. Buy another car
  64. Buy lunch for a stranger
  65. Submit artwork for the Tiny Art Show
  66. Get fit by 30something
  67. Compete in salsa competition
  68. Learn how to surf
  69. Do a cart-wheel
  70. Do a back flip
  71. Participate in sweat lodge ceremony
  72. Go cave tubing in South America
  73. Read 50 books in one year
  74. Take a kickboxing class
  75. Go on mother-daughter road trip
  76. Go on father-daughter road trip
  77. Meet all of my siblings
  78. Volunteer in all 50 states
  79. Start handmade gift box business
  80. Sell one gift box. Lol
  81. Ride a horse
  82. Publish 50 blogs
  83. Publish 100 blogs
  84. Reach 100 views for yourtruthdiet
  85. Reach 200 views for yourtruthdiet
  86. Reach 50 followers
  87. Reach 100 followers
  88. Reach 1000 views
  89. Send message in a bottle and get reply
  90. Send message with a balloon and get reply
  91. Break at least one Guinness Book record
  92. Build a treehouse that is L.E.E.D. certified
  93. Go on yoga retreat
  94. Join a book club
  95. Take Bikram yoga class without dying (This may substitute for sweat lodge given the experience.)
  96. Display my artwork in a gallery
  97. Go on cruise with girlfriends
  98. Attend a concert overseas
  99. Drive a scooter in another country
  100. Drink coffee in Seattle
  101. Go vegetarian for 30 days
  102. Give up desserts for 30 days
  103. Go on road trip with my girlfriends from East Coast to West Coast
  104. Learn all American presidents in the correct order (Sad, I should probably already know this!)
  105. Learn how to knit a hat in honor of my late aunt
  106. Learn how to make a mouth blown glass anything in Italy
  107. Take a cooking class in Italy
  108. Take a cooking class in China
  109. Ride a unicycle
  110. Dance at Carnival in Brazil
  111. Learn how to roller blade
  112. Run 15 minutes outside without stopping (April 4, 2012)
  113. Run 5K in less than 40 minutes (35.41 MINUTES…6/30/2012)
  114. Visit my family in Oaxaca, Mexico
  115. Attend Dia de los Muertos in Oaxaca, Mexico
  116. Finish leg tattoo collage
  117. Get back tattoo
  118. Learn of my family genealogy
  119. Make high heels for my niece
  120. Make a summer dress and wear it
  121. Become a Tough Mudder
  122. Do 5 or more boy push ups and 20 or more crunches everyday until my 29th birthday in May (2012).
  123. Teach a cooking class and get paid for it.

……With more to come!

Leave a Reply

