I Want to Be a Tough Mudder!

I’m not much of a planner when it comes to working out.  I just do whatever comes to mind, but I know one thing for sure.  If I don’t kick it up a notch and get my head into the game, I won’t be ready to face the MUD in the Fall.  This is probably the right time to tell you that I’m planning to take on the awesome, Tough Mudder challenge, which is a 10-12 mile obstacle course designed by British Special Forces.  I have until October to train.  That’s plenty of time right?  Riiiiiiiight!  This is a test of stamina, physical and mental strength, and teamwork.  As of now, I am going in solo because my friends have not yet committed, but I’m not worried.

That's my cousin (Tough Mudder, Florida, 2011)

Anywho, so the boyfriend and I have made Saturday mornings a gym-date ritual.  I usually focus more on running and overall strength training on Saturdays.  I know that many of you would rather take a hammer to the treadmill rather than actually walking or running on it, but I kind of like it.  I try to challenge myself and play around with the incline and speed, but for some reason, last Saturday I lost my mind.  I find it somewhat comfortable to run around a 5.5-6.0 speed, but that is when I want to do interval training.  I run for about 3 minutes and then walk on an incline for 2 minutes.  After 45 minutes or so of this, I’m done and on to other things, but this time was different.  I reduced the speed to about 4.5-5.0 and ran for 15 minutes straight.  Personally, I think I deserve a medal for that because it was the first for me.  I wasn’t for sure I could do it without dying. But wait, there’s more!  I decided to kick it up another notch and bumped up the speed to 7.0.  Did you hear me?  7.0.  It only lasted for 30 seconds, but when you’re still carrying 168 pounds on a 5’7 frame with 38D boobies, it is an amazing feat.  I walked off that treadmill feeling like Ms. Super-Awesome-7.0.

It felt good and helped me to overcome my fear of moving forward and facing challenges.  I have been in such an emotional funk or mental fog if you will.  With all of the moving and instability in my life right now, it felt good to finally accomplish something that I’ve been scared to do.  There is the fear of falling off the treadmill or further damaging my right ankle, but in that moment on the treadmill, I didn’t care.  I now know I am capable of pushing past those fears and I want to do it again.  I want to be a TOUGH MUDDER, baby!  WHOOOOOHOOOOO!

 

Healthy Journey!

Leave a Reply

