My Body is Attacking Me

“OSMOSIS JONES, WHERE ARE YOU?”

I use to think I could eat anything and not gain weight.  I’m not the slimmest girl out there, but I have managed to find a way to keep from gaining too much.  You’re probably rolling your eyes right now.  I know, but all of this boasting does not mean a thing because now I have major problems.

I’ve been a good girl and switched white bread for 100% wheat, white rice for brown rice, whole milk for reduced fat or almond milk, swiss rolls for grapes, and fried foods for grilled, and so much more, but there is something in my diet that no longer likes me.  There is a war taking place in my body and I am strongly convinced that gluten and/or dairy are to blame.  So it seems that all of that good girl swapping could be working against me.  What the heck!  I thought wheat and low-fat dairy were a dieters magic weight loss solution.  Ha!

Well, until I am able to see a doctor and figure out what’s really happening, I’m cutting back on wheat, pasta, oatmeal, rye, and certain dairy products.  I’m tired of feeling like crap.  For breakfast, I opted to have 1/2 cup of brown rice (I cook a lot and freeze what I don’t use), 1/2 avocado, and one boiled, Cage-free egg, 1 medium orange, and 1/2 cup of red grapes.  Oh, yeah!  And Fair Trade peppermint tea that I purchased from Ten Thousand Villages.

The great thing about trying to find solutions to this unknown problem is that I am able to experiment with new foods and ideas.  It’s a great thing that I like to bake and cook or otherwise this experience would be a complete hell!  Quinoa pancakes anyone?

Healthy Gluten-Free Journey!

2 thoughts on “My Body is Attacking Me

  1. Wow, reading this has really struck something within me; it seems like it could have been something I had written, about 2 years ago. 2 years ago I switched to wholewheat everything – bread and pasta etc, with a view to being healthier and being kinder to my body. This only saw an increase in symptoms thad had been happening before then, and I suffered for another year before I finally admitted to myself that I thought I may be gluten intolerant. Turns out it was gluten and lactose, and a year on since cutting them out of my diet, I’ve never felt better. Listen to what your body is telling you, and I sincerely hope you manage to get things sorted. – Kathryn 🙂

    • Thank you, Kathryn for reading my post. It is amazing how food can affect your body even when you think you are eating well. It is good to hear that you are feeling much better now. I am thinking of following a Mediterranean lifestyle to see if it helps. I hope you continue to feel better. -Shamekia 🙂

Leave a Reply

