Picture This

Part of my weight loss success (80 lbs.) was really due to the fact that I began to educate myself about the benefits of eating certain foods, trying new things, cooking at home more, staying physically active, and reducing the amount of food I was consuming.  I finally learned how to read a food label, which shocked the crap out of me.  I discovered that the whole pint of Ben & Jerry’s Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough ice cream that I ate probably twice or more times a week, was really 270 calories per 1/2 cup and not for the whole thing.  So essentially I was eating about 1080 calories in one sitting, not including the heavy dinner or take-out that I had before.  I’m not going to say that I completely gave up the stuff after being slapped in the face by the harsh facts, but I learned how to slowly cut back.  Instead of eating 4 servings, I ate two, until I eventually felt that I didn’t want it as often anymore.  I substituted fresh fruit in place of the two servings I was no longer eating or I opted for something with less calories, which was necessary if I wanted to stick to a 1,800 calorie plan and see results.

I don’t want to overwhelm you with butt loads of information about who determines the serving sizes and how much you should eat, but I would recommend that you use it as a guideline.  Try one serving size of something and observe how you feel.  If you want more, maybe have another, but be careful and be mindful of what you are doing.  I know that many of you will not stop at 20 potato chips (150 calories) or 3 Oreo cookies (160 calories), but you may actually find that you’re okay with that.  For some people it’s just a habit or a matter of eating with their eyes first.  ‘Oh, my…what big EYES you have.”

So lets see just how much your eyes are eating in comparison to an actual serving size.

http://dustinmaherfitness.com/tag/how-big-is-a-serving-size/

Don’t freak out.  Again, I repeat, I recommend that you use this as a guideline and adjust it to fit your needs.  I found it useful to buy a cheap set of measuring cups and spoons to measure out my favorite foods in order to get an idea of what an actual serving looked like.  I purchased small snack size bags and containers to divide my food once I got home from grocery shopping.  I quickly noticed that once I started to do this, I cut back on eating so much for a very good reason.  It is rather expensive to overeat!

Healthy Journey!

Leave a Reply

