Eat, Drink, Sleep?

I have been inside all week perfecting the art of making and eating awesome chocolate mousse and chocolate chip cookies.  Honestly, I could care less if I never see another bowl of mousse for the rest of my life because I overdid it.  But now that the snow has melted, the rain is gone, the birds are chirping, and avocados are now two for a dollar at my local supermarket, I am back, baby!  Whoooooopie!  Ohhhhhhhhhh, whoopie pies….just kidding!

Mmmm, sacrilicious!

If there is one thing that I am absolutely, positively, without a doubt, sure of, it would be that setting small, measurable, specific, and realistic goals are key to weight loss.  Some people are freaking amazing at multi-tasking and taking on many small challenges at once (Ferrari Taskers) and then there are those who prefer to take it step by step (Honda Taskers).  Whichever speed works best for you is what should follow.  As for myself, well I have my moments.  For the most part I am a multi-tasker depending on the situation.  So when I heard that someone had come up with the idea of burning calories by running a 5K and eating Krispy Kreme donuts too, I was blown away until I realized that that miiight… actually… be a bad idea.  That sounds like torture, but fun to watch! I’ll pass!  But I do like the combination of eating, drinking, and sleeping, although not all at the same time.


Eating
.  To eat or not to eat?  Is that really the question?  Possibly, but I think it’s important to know when to eat, what to eat, and how much.  I like to eat every 3-4 hours, something with protein, fiber, healthy carbs, and fruit or vegetables.  For example, for a quick breakfast: 2% Greek yogurt, 1 tbsp. of walnuts, 1/8-1/4 cp. of good quality granola, blueberries, and a drizzle of honey.  Depending on my plans for the day or how active I may be, this will last me at least 3 hours.  However, lately, I have gotten off track and I typically space my meals too far apart and then find myself cramming in all my calories right before bedtime.  Not a good idea at all.  Sometimes I eat too little and find that I will make up for it the next day.  Again, not a great idea.  So one of my goals is to get back on track and follow my old mini-meal plan of eating every 3-4 hours.  This does not mean that I will eat an entire 4 coarse meal.  Ideally, I would like to aim for 300-400 calories per meal (1600 calories daily).

Drinking.  I use to be really good about drinking water on a regular basis.  I’m not a huge juice or soda drinker nor do I spend endless nights with Mr. Jack Daniels and his buddies Jameson, the White Russian, or Bud, but occasionally we meet.  (I really hope you got that joke because if not I will feel a little bit like a loser!)  I have set a goal to drink at least 2 liters of water a day in order to curb my appetite, stay hydrated, and wash all of these nasty toxins out of my body.  I strongly believe that water is the way to go and it’s kinda cheap if you can stay away from the disposable bottles, get a re-usable one, and use a water filter for the tap.  Save the environment, your health, and your dollars!

Sleeping.  Are you getting your eight hours each night?  That’s awesome.  I am too, but not consistently.  Fortunately I do not have any sleeping problems, except going to bed before midnight, but it’s not good quality sleep.  So what does this have to do with weight loss?  Plenty.   When we deprive ourselves of proper rest, the mind does not function well, and our bodies suffer in the end.  We make poor decisions when we are tired and you know it’s true.  Sometimes I think I’m hungry when I’m really thirsty or simply tired.  I am a huge fan of power naps, but that does not replace the benefits of a full night of shut-eye.  So, I will aim to go to bed at 11:00 p.m. and rise at 7:00 a.m.  Easier said than done right?

Healthy Journey!

One thought on “Eat, Drink, Sleep?

Leave a Reply

