I Be Strokin,’ Bucketlist Style

hot_lifeguard_swim

Many, many years ago when I was just yay high, I wrote a list of goals on a sheet of notebook paper in purple ink.  I folded it several times before tucking it away with the intentions of checking them off after accomplishing them.  Well, I lost that sheet of paper, but I still remember what those goals were and so I just created another list.  I lost that one too. I managed to write well over 10 or more lists before the age of 30 and one of the things that all of them had in common was that I managed to accomplish very little over the years.  Granted, I’ve experienced some pretty incredible things over the years and many of them would have made my list if only I had found it.  I guess we all have a list of things we want to do before we die whether we’ve written them down, published them for the world to see, or have just simply left them swimming around in our beautiful brains.  Besides, you don’t need a sheet of paper to tell you how to live.

Fast forward some years later, I’ve been able to cross some of my goals off of my bucketlist, but as soon as I accomplish one thing, I add another drop in the bucket.  Will this list every be complete?  Probably not and that’s a good thing!  Slowly, but surely, I’m making things happen like learning how to swim.  Yep, Folks, I’m learning how to swim as a 30 year-old woman and I’m not ashamed.  I’m stoked.  I have two more lessons left in my class for beginner swimmers and I feel more confident during and after each lesson.  I can barely do a set strokes before leaping to my feet, but I’m learning and that my friends is an amazing feeling.  I’m not kidding myself into thinking I’ll become a professional swimmer anytime soon, but I at least I’ll be able to save a drowning kid by the end of my lessons.

I am making peace with water and facing my fear of swimming one lesson at a time.  I’m tired of being the person standing at the shallow end of the pool or shore while watching everyone else dive in with confidence and glee.  However, at the end of the day, learning how to swim is less about others and more about me dealing with my personal fears of accomplishing something really great. I may be slow, but I’m not a quitter.  Folks, don’t stand at the shallow end of your dreams.  You will feel a lot better if you fail at something compared to doing nothing at all.  At least you tried.

lane-racing

 

Healthy Journey!

3 thoughts on “I Be Strokin,’ Bucketlist Style

Leave a Reply

